New weather station up and running

Post weather station info, fixes, advice and questions in here.
F1 Weather Freak
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:09 pm
Location: Ellenbrook

New weather station up and running

Postby herpingmad » Mon Sep 05, 2011 7:34 pm

Hi guys, got the weather station up and running today. It's a Davis 5162 C. The main unit (inc. rain collector) are 3.8m above the ground (1.5m above the shed, the shed is 2m high) and the anemometer is 5m above the ground (3m above the shed). I ran the cable along one of the guy-wires.

I plan on buying the serial link in the next couple of weeks but until then it's just logging to the console. I am a little confused about all the choices when it comes to weather software and uploading the data. I will have to do a little more research before I ask some questions!

I will upload a few photos of the station tomorrow.
HERPINGMAD ~~~~~~~~~~slithering away to snap some pics of the sky

WAWG Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 12284
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: Lower West

Re: New weather station up and running

Postby Fu Manchu » Mon Sep 05, 2011 7:44 pm

Oh wow, this will be great to see come together.

Once you have the right questions you can bet our members will have the right answers :)

F1 Weather Freak
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:09 pm
Location: Ellenbrook

Re: New weather station up and running

Postby herpingmad » Tue Sep 06, 2011 5:43 pm

I tried to upload a photo of the weather station and it gave me this error message:
Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached.
HERPINGMAD ~~~~~~~~~~slithering away to snap some pics of the sky

WAWG Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 12284
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:36 pm
Location: Lower West

New weather station up and running

Postby Fu Manchu » Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:05 pm

Yeah mate you'll need an external photo sharing account.

I use photobucket others use flickr.
Upload to that they copy the URL and insert it between img tags.




Lert, what's the one you said is good?

WAWG Leadership Group
User avatar
Posts: 3443
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Murdoch

Re: New weather station up and running

Postby Pete » Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:15 pm

I made an easy to understand guide for photobucket for those have trouble navigating their way around, here's the link: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1390&p=41379#p41379

F1 Weather Freak
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:09 pm
Location: Ellenbrook

Re: New weather station up and running

Postby herpingmad » Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:29 pm

Here it is, all hooked up and streaming to the console. I ordered weatherlink yesterday so a should have it all ready to upload to the net within the next couple of weeks.

Image
HERPINGMAD ~~~~~~~~~~slithering away to snap some pics of the sky

F1 Weather Freak
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:09 pm
Location: Ellenbrook

Re: New weather station up and running

Postby herpingmad » Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:37 pm

I am now hanging out for rain! All the sensors have had a workout apart from the rain.............come on bad weather!

The wind speed seems around 30% lower than compared to the BOM stations North and South of me (Pearce and Perth Airport). It may be because I am surrounded by a sea of houses but down the track might take the anemometer up a few more meters.

Temp, humidity and barometric pressure all seem good.

Are there any online weather stations close to Ellenbrook that i can compare results with?
HERPINGMAD ~~~~~~~~~~slithering away to snap some pics of the sky

WAWG Leadership Group
User avatar
Posts: 3443
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Murdoch

Re: New weather station up and running

Postby Pete » Tue Sep 06, 2011 8:37 pm

Not sure, someone else may know. :|

Just a question. Where is the temperature sensor? I always thought you got the best temperature reading when the guage is 1.5m above the ground. How do your temperature readings compare with ones at Pearce AP?

F1 Weather Freak
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:09 pm
Location: Ellenbrook

Re: New weather station up and running

Postby herpingmad » Tue Sep 06, 2011 8:54 pm

The temp sensor is under the rain collector. The problem I have is that the backyard is very small so the only spot to get clear of fences, trees and surrounding houses is above the shed!

My temp and barometric readings are almost spot on Perth airport readings rather than Pearce. It's only been running a couple of days so lots of tweaking to go!
HERPINGMAD ~~~~~~~~~~slithering away to snap some pics of the sky

WAWG Leadership Group
User avatar
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Floreat

Re: New weather station up and running

Postby Tom M (Chaser 80) » Sun Sep 25, 2011 1:15 pm

Hey! love your setup herpingmad:) you will always be a bit lower than other BoM stations...i am too. i know one member used to have his station online, Junglejim did. it seems to be offline now tho?

Return to Weather Equipment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests